Roadwater Players
The centre of Amateur Dramatics in West Somerset

This is the website that will guide you through everything to do with the Roadwater Players - Winners of the Pint Pot Award 2011/12 and 13 at the Cinderella Trophy Awards


Players Logo 

Panto 2013 - Pirates of the Backwater by Nige McBrayne with music by Jackie Cullingford

Rehearsals for this show are well underway now, in fact books are down week beginning 14th October! Things are running along nicely. It's a great show with all the usual gags and panto nonsense and a good array of both original and well known songs. Look out for tickets coming out as they will be hot property. Anybody wishing to help out backstage or doing anything behind the scenes please contact Nige on 07720 640698 asap.

Bill Tindall and Clive Hicks

Many of you will have heard, but some more distant members past and present may not have done, that we received the sad news last week of the passing of two of our longstanding members. Clive Hicks had been a member of the Players for a considerable amount of time, and although he wasn't renowned for taking on hefty parts he was one of those members you could always rely on to help out. When given a role, however small, he took it on with enthusiasm and put everything into it. He often attended social gatherings and was often found at the Valiant explaining the ins and outs of Quantum Physics! He will be sadly missed by us all.

Bill, who had fought his illness so bravely, finally succumbed to it last week also. Bill was a multi talented Player; he wrote scripts and songs, he directed and he acted. He was a man of much experience who brought this to bear on his participation with the Players. He loved meeting new people and getting the best out of them and he too shall be sadly missed by us all.

All our thoughts go out to Bill's wife Janet and her family, as well as to Clive's partner Barbara.

AGM 2013

This years AGM took place on 25th July at the Village Hall. Following elections and a vote for committee the following were elected to the Players committee for 2013/14:

Chairman - Ben Lintott

Secretary - Nancy Marshall

Treasurer - Jackie Heard

Committee - Verity Martindill, Susie David, Sarah Kingsford, Nige McBrayne and Chris Marshall

This means that we welcome Nige back to the committee for his second stint. Following the vote, Allan Prentice was the candidate who missed out on this years committee. Allan has given many years of service to the committee, as both a member and as Chairman. He brings much experience to thetable and his input to the committee will be greatly missed. Despite his disappointment, we hope Allan will continue to be involved with the Players, and when the time is right, put himself up for election again.

Also at the AGM, following a vote, a proposal was accepted to put up a schedule for selecting future plays and pantos. There were one or two minor alterations to the proposal and when we have the final decree it will be circulated to members and will appear on this site.

As the AGM has taken place, subs are now due for renewal. Either forward them to Nancy Marshall, or purchase them from our online shop - see the link to the left.

This year saw the inaugral presentation of the Young Player Award, an award given to the under 18 member who the committee consider to have given their all for the Players in the previous year (not just for performance). The trophy is a mini version of the Clive Cooper Trophy and the first winner was Callum Hughes. Well done Callum, keep up the good work! Callum was present at the AGM to receive his award.

Annual Dinner

The annual dinner took place on 29th June 2013, at the Valiant Soldier. A good attendance of 30 members enjoyed a fun evening. There was a great atmosphere, somewhat ruined by a drab after dinner speech delivered by our esteemed Chairman. Still, a good night was had by all. Thankyou to Susie David for organising this event, and Mike and his staff for hosting us again.

Panto 2013

This year has proved to be a first for the Players. We have been presented with three, yes three, completely homegrown pantos for consideration. The three were Little Red Riding Hood by Katherine Kingsford, Alicia in Pantoland by David Pitts and Ann Scullard and Pirates of the Backwater by Nige McBrayne and Jacky Cullingford. After plenty of deliberation the committee decided to go forward with Pirates of the Backwater as it's preferred option. All three were exceptional pantos, and it is hoped that the two that missed out will come forward in the coming years.

We now look forward to the end of May when the finished script will be brought forward and we can start to plan for auditions and the start of rehearsals.

It is heartening to know that we have the talent in the Roadwater Players to not only come up with one original panto in a year, but actually come up with three at once. Well done to all concerned.

Spring Play 2013:

This years choice of spring play is 'A Laughing Matter' by April de Angelis. It will be directed by Patrick Daley with Auditions taking place on 12th February 2013 at the Village Hall. Please see next up for more information.